Home » Government Reshuffle:President Ruto Dismisses Last Remaining Uhuru Appointees

Government Reshuffle:President Ruto Dismisses Last Remaining Uhuru Appointees

by Samantha
0 comment

On Friday, July 28, significant changes were implemented in various government bodies by President William Ruto and his confidants, reshaping the landscape of governance in Kenya.

One notable change was the appointment of Engineer Simon Nganga, Hassan Ahamednur Baricha, Jared Mekenye Ongwae, and Lydia Boke Marwa as members of the Board of Directors at the Water Resource Authority.

Their primary mandate is to regulate and manage water resources. The appointees were called upon to assume office for a term of three years.

In the same vein, President Ruto revoked the appointments of Bernard K. Njoroge, Stephen Oluoch, George Wambugu, and John Thuku, who had previously been appointed by former President Uhuru Kenyatta.

This move was made possible by Section 7 (3) of the State Corporations Act, which grants the President the authority to effect such changes, including dismissing those appointed by the previous regime or not renewing expired contracts.

Additionally, President Ruto appointed Lucy Waruingi as the Chairperson of the Wildlife Conservation Trust Fund governing board.

Her appointment took effect on Wednesday, July 26, and she will serve for three years.

This decision was made in line with the powers conferred upon the President by Section 23 (2) (a) of the Wildlife Conservation and Management Act.

The government’s reorganization did not stop there.

Transport Cabinet Secretary Kipchumba Murkomen reconstituted the Nairobi Metropolitan Area Transport Authority board. Anna Robai, Dominic Kipkoech, and Annastacia Mumbua were appointed as Board Directors for a three-year term.

Their responsibility will be to review and implement policies that modernize transportation in Nairobi and its environs, striving to establish an efficient, effective, and sustainable public transport system.

Furthermore, Water CS Alice Wahome facilitated the transfer of Patrick Musili from Athi Water Works Development Agency, where he had served as the chairperson of the Board of Directors, to the Kenya Water Institute as the chairperson of the Governing Council.

His tenure in this new role commenced on August 7, 2023, lasting for a term of three years.

These changes are expected to impact the regulation and management of water resources, wildlife conservation, and transportation in Nairobi, ushering in a new era for these sectors in Kenya.

You may also like

About Us

Follow us

Recent Articles

@2023 – All Right Reserved. Designed and Developed by Kenyan Report ICT