Leaders from 11 Mouunt Kenya counties drum support for DP Ruto presidential bid.

A section of Mount Kenya Members of Parliament drawn from the 11 counties have vowed to support Deputy President William Ruto’s 2022 Presidential bid despite President Uhuru Kenyatta loyalist in the region gave the strongest hit that they will support ODM leader Raila Odinga for presidency.

In a statement on Saturday, the MPs drawn from 11 counties in the region said it is only through the newly formed United Democratic Alliance (UDA) that the interest of the people in the country will be catered for.

“We have resolved to canvass the agenda of the people we represent on the platform of UDA, a political party we have for together with other Kenyans from across the nation in a political movement that  currently has the support of millions of Kenyans, MCAs, Governors and more than 150 MPs from all the corner of the country,” they said.

The counties include; Meru, Tharaka Nithi, Embu, Kirinyaga, Nyeri, Muranga, Kiambu, Nyandarua, Laikipia, Nakuru and Nairobi.

In reference to their statement, the legislators said they had settled on the deputy president after weighing the current presidential aspirants based on their track records and ability to serve the country.

“We have weighed the Presidential candidates in terms of their ability to master support across the generational divide, their track records in delivery of national public commitment, and their passion for work and sacrifices to the unity of the nation and feel DP Ruto ticks all boxes,” read part of their statement.

The urrged Kenyans to be part of the new non-tribal, non-sectarian political dispensation under the UDA party anchored on the new revolutionary bottom up economic model.

KR On Youtube

    What do you think?

    Written by Pauline Nabwire

    Siaya Governor Rasanga declares interest in Parliamentary seat ahead of 2022 general elections

    The week that was; popular sports journalist puts aside professionalism and attacks Ghost