Uhuru announces cash reward for Olympic team.

President Uhuru Kenyatta will award Sh 1 million to Gold medalist and Sh 750,000 for athletes who bagged silver medals. The bronze winner will receive Sh 500,000.

This means Gold medalist, Eliud Kipchoge, Peres Jepchirchir, Faith Kipyegon and Emmanuel Korir will receive Sh 1 million.

For the silver category, Timothy Cheruyoit, Ferguson Rotich, Hellen Obiri and Brigid Kosgei will each get Sh 750,000 as Benjamin Kigen and Hyvin Kiyeng will get Sh 500,000 in the bronze category.

The Head of State further announced a uniform token of Sh 200,000 for all athletes and official, including the paralympic teams, participating in delayed summer games.

The President thanked the Olympians for their outstanding performance that saw Kenya top the African medal chart and challenged the sporting fraternity to ensure the country continue to excel on the global stage.

Among the athletes present during the award ceremony were Emmanuel Korir and Ferguson Rotich who bagged Gold and silver medal in the 800M finals Peres Jepchirchir and Brigid Kosgei. Benjamin Kigen and Timothy Cheruyoit were also present

KR On Youtube

    What do you think?

    Written by Pauline Nabwire

    Moses Kuria Spills The Beans On Why President Kenyatta Is Against DP Ruto’ s Presidential Ambition

    Here Is Why Nick Ndeda Is Betty Kyallo’s Soulmate!