President Uhuru lifts lockdown in the 5 zoned Counties

President Uhuru Kenyatta has lifted the cessation of movement in the five zoned counties (Nairobi, Machakos, Kajiado, Kiambu and Nakuru) during the Labour Day celebrations.

On Saturday, May 1, 2021, the president announced that the curfew has been revised from 8pm – 4am to 10pm – 4am with effect from midnight on May 1, 2021.

The head of state noted that the Covid-19 positivity rate has gone down in the last one month.

“That the hours of curfew in the Zoned Area are revised to commence at 10 pm and end at 4 am, with effect from midnight on this 1st day of May, 2021, until otherwise directed,” Uhuru stated.

This, he noted, was after the Covid-19 positivity rate went low in the last one month.

“Data from our medical experts suggests the same trend in the zoned area we put on lockdown during my March 26th, 2021 address. After one month of lockdown, COVID caseload within the zoned area has come down by 72%.” the president noted.

The Head of State directed that in-person and congregational worship resume in strict guidelines issued by the Inter-Faith Council and Ministry of Health. 

“However, the attending congregation is capped to 1/3 (One-third) of the capacity of the place of worship,” the president stated.

The president also directed that all education institutions in all levels of learning shall re-open in accordance with the calendar issued by the Ministry of Education.

The head of state directed that the sporting activities shall be guided by the regulations to be issued by the Ministry of Health jointly with the Ministry of Sports.

KR On Youtube

    Written by Kennedy Omondi




    Kieleweke MPs accuses DP Ruto of misleading Kenyans

    Details of President Uhuru’s Labour Day speech on cessation of movement and curfew hours