President Uhuru issues orders suspending Parliament sessions until further notice

President Uhuru Kenyatta on Friday March, 26, 2021 directed that the sessions of both the National Assembly as well as that of the Senate be suspended until further notice.

In his address to the nation from State House in Nairobi, the head of state announced that the sessions of both the Houses be suspended, saying that the decision was arrived at after consultations with the leadership of both Houses.

The Head of State announced this among new measures aimed at reducing gatherings in order to tame the rising cases of COVID-19 in the country.

He also directed that sessions of five county assemblies designated as ‘disease infected areas’ similarly be suspended.

“…with the concurrence of the parliamentary leadership of both Houses of Parliament, and with the concurrence of County leadership; the Ordinary Sessions of the August Houses including those of their Committees, and the Ordinary Sessions of the County Assemblies of Nairobi, Machakos, Kajiado, Kiambu and Nakuru, are hereby suspended, until further notice,” President Uhuru said.

“In accordance with the Standing Orders of the National Assembly and the Senate, the Two Speakers of Parliament will move to effect this decision as well as the Speakers of the respective County Assemblies.” He added.

KR On Youtube

    Written by Kennedy Omondi




    President Uhuru’s 12 new directives on Covid-19