More confusion as Raila now disowns Orengo-led initiative a week after reconciliation

Just about a week since there was an apparent truce between Orange Democratic Movement party leader Raila Odinga and his renegade party members James Orengo and Otiende Amollo which ended in him even appointing them as part of the legal team tasked with rescuing BBI at the courts, now the latest developments suggest a reversal of the reconciliation.

The Siaya Senator and the Rarieda member of parliament, Otiende Amollo, have been members of a bicameral caucus that also includes members of tanga tanga, most notable, Aaron Cheruiyot and Moses Kuria, and which intends to salvage the BBI by reducing its scope, and focusing on fewer weightier and more serious provisions.

The creation of a Prime Minister’s position and two deputies, increase in allocation of funds to counties, creation of ward fund, restructuring the electoral agency, re-looking security laws and expediting corruption cases are top on their agenda.

Other issues include the number of constituencies, equalisation fund to the counties, the two-thirds gender rule and seven-year tax break for youthful entrepreneurs.

The group of 13 members from the National Assembly and Senate will have a luncheon in Nairobi on Tuesday to deliberate the zero draft being worked on by their technical team. They will then start consensus-building.

However, ODM leader Raila Odinga, who is among the chief proponents of the report, disowned the caucus saying the Bill must be subjected to a referendum.

Makueni Senator Mutula Kilonzo Junior said that apart from restructuring the IEBC, they would review other electoral laws, including conduct of elections, nominations, and dispute resolution.

He said they were still mulling over bringing the Executive into Parliament and whether it would need a referendum.

“We will look at all the issues and review what can pass and avoid those that need a referendum because it is not easy to hold it before elections,” he said.

The group brings together senators Kilonzo Jr, James Orengo (Siaya), Mithika Linturi (Meru), Johnson Sakaja (Nairobi) and Aaron Cheruiyot (Kericho).
Legislators from the National Assembly include Gatundu South’s Moses Kuria, Abdulswamad Nassir (Mvita), Sakwa Bunyasi (Nambale), Shadrack Mose (Kitutu Masaba), Soipan Tuya (Narok Woman Rep), Cecily Mbarire (nominated) and Otiende Amolo (Rarieda).

Kuria said the creation a Prime Minister’s position through a parliamentary process was feasible given that all they need is to create a position of a chief minister and rename it.

“There is nothing that stops Parliament from creating the position,” said Kuria.

KR On Youtube

    Written by Joshua Wanga




    Brave Burat residents fight off KDF officers from land, claiming ownership.

    The strange item set to face tax hike in Ukur Yattani’s budget; have the Illuminati stories been true all along?