Kakamega Governor Wycliffe Oparanya replaced as Council of Governors chairman

In the latest development following a closed-door meeting at a Nairobi hotel, Kakamega governor Wycliffe Oparanya has been replaced as the Council of Governor’s chair.

This is after Embu governor Martin Wambora was elected the new chairman of the Council of Governors to replace former chair and Kakamega governor Wycliffe Oparanya earlier today.

Wambora will be Deputized by his Kisii counterpart Governor James Ongwae as per the elections that were carried out at Nairobi’s Movenpick Hotel in Westlands.

Other contestants who were battling it out with Wambora in the hotly contested race includes, Kwale’s Salim Mvurya, Kirinyaga Governor Anne Waiguru, and Jackson Mandago of Uasin Gishu.

Makueni governor Professor Kivutha Kibwan withdrew his candidature at the last minute, citing a conflict of interest as the County chief eye’s the Presidential seat in the 2022 general election.

“I will not be a candidate for the Council of Governors elections. As a 2022 presidential candidate, I have been advised by my team that serving in the next CoG executive can constitute a conflict of interest. I thank my colleagues for the opportunity to serve as Chief Whip,” he tweeted. 

Others elected in various posts include Elgeyo Marakwet’s Alex Tolgos who was elected as the new CoG Chief Whip to replace Kivutha Kibwana while Nyeri governor Mutahi Kahiga was elected the chair of the Education Committee.

KR On Youtube

    Written by Fred Orido




    Inside the final minutes of Uhuru’s closed-door meeting in Sagana as lawmakers pour [Photos]

    ODM makes U-turn in Machakos by-elections surprising Kalonzo