Government extends deadline for moving in and out of the 5 Zoned Counties

The Government has extended the deadline for traveling in and out of Nairobi, Machakos, Kiambu, Nakuru and Kajiado Counties until Sunday, March 28, 2021.

President Uhuru on Friday, March 26, 2021 put Nairobi, Kiambu, Kajiado, Nakuru and Machakos counties under the cessation of movement due to increase in Covid-19 infections and deaths across the country.

In a statement, the government spokesperson Cyrus Oguna has confirmed the extension of the deadline to allow people to move in and out of the five zoned counties until Sunday, March 28, 2021.

“We understand there are some of us who were locked out of the zoned areas, for one reason or the other. In its wisdom, the government has offered a transition period up to Sunday, 8pm to allow anyone who falls into this category to move in and out of the five counties,” Oguna stated.

He also said that the extension would also allow students studying in other counties to travel back home since physical learning was also suspended.

“We are also aware there are students studying in other counties and want to travel back home, they can also take advantage of this period,” he added.

In restricting the movement, Uhuru said evidence showed the five counties accounted for 70% of Kenya’s reported Covid-19 cases recorded so far while announcing the order.

The head of state also suspended all public gatherings and in-person meetings of whatever nature within the zoned area.

The order will only affect movement in and out of the zoned area, meaning that one can move freely within the five counties during the period the order would be effective.

KR On Youtube

    Written by Kennedy Omondi




    DP Ruto warned over alliance with Raila

    Nairobi DG Anne Kananu declares her interest in Nairobi Gubernatorial seat for 2022 general election