Ex-Raila MP shortlisted for IEBC top job

In what is expected to not only cause fireworks, but also produce tense moments during the vetting sessions that are due to begin on July 7 at the KICC, the IEBC selection panel led by Dr. Elizabeth Muli announced that among the applicants shortlisted for the body’s four commissioner slots is a former MP that served in Raila’s party.


The Selection Panel for the appointment of the commissioners shortlisted and published the names of the 36 individuals from a pool of 660 applicants who had expressed interest in the positions. It is hoped and expected that the successful applicants are those that are impartial, and have no previous attachment or dealings with any political party.


Felix Nyauchi who is among the shortlisted candidates served as MP for Gwasi between 1997 to 2002 with the National Democratic Party, NDP, whose leader then was Raila Odinga, before he dismantled it and joined KANU, then eventually formed ODM.


Muli assured Kenyans that the panel will discharge its mandate with utmost fidelity to the constitution, warning that any candidate who will attempt to influence the process will be disqualified.

“Any attempt by a candidate to canvas or otherwise influence the selection process will automatically disqualify the candidate from the process,” she warned.


The positions fell vacant following the resignations of Roselyn Akombe, Paul Kurgat, Margaret Mwanchanya and Connie Maina after the 2017 general elections.
Others in the shortlist include the former national police service commission member Abdalla Mohamed (Nairobi), former judges and magistrates vetting board vice chairperson Roseline Doreen Adhiambo Odhiambo Odede (Siaya) and former KNCHR chairperson Kagwigira Mbogori (Meru).


Former KNCHR chairperson Florence Shimbiri-Jaoko (Nairobi), Koki Muli and former NCIC commissioner Joseph Gitile Naituli (Meru) are also on the shortlist.
Others are Abdirizak Arae Nunow (Garissa), Anne Mwikali Kiusya (Machakos), Caroline Njeri Ng’ang’a (Muranga), Catherine Muchiru Kamindo (Nyeri), Cecilia Ngoyoni (Marsabit), Con Omore Osendo (Kisumu), and Dinah Jeruto Kipkebut (Nakuru).

Others are Francis Wanderi (Nyeri), Harriette Igonanga Chiggai (Kakamega), Irene Cherop Masit (Elegeyo Marakwet), Irene keino (Uasin Gishu) and Joseph Kang’ethe Ng’ang’a (Kiambu).

KR On Youtube

    Written by Joshua Wanga




    Political radio show spirals out of control as Bitok swears to sue Millie Odhiambo’s nephew.

    Ekuru Aukot; Moi took our land in Rift Valley and gave it to Kalenjins