Home » Kisumu Central Locals Shed Tears As The Incumbent MP Fred Ouda Gets Trounced By A Newcomer

Kisumu Central Locals Shed Tears As The Incumbent MP Fred Ouda Gets Trounced By A Newcomer

by Joshua Wanga
0 comment

A section of ODM supporters In Kisumu were left with premium tears after the nomination exercise that was conducted on Tuesday came to an end.

Supporters of Kisumu central MP Fred Ouda could not hide their emotions after the incumbent was defeated in the contest.

Oron garnered 6,842 votes to clinch the ODM ticket to contest for the Kisumu Central parliamentary seat in the August 9 polls.

Mr Ouda got 5,362 votes. He is the only sitting MP in Nyanza who did not secure a ticket in the ODM nominations.

Mr Victor Owuor Radido came in third with 269 votes while Mr Elijah Bonyo Oburu, son of Dr Oburu Oginga came a distance fourth with 172 votes.

Videos shared on social media show a few of them crying painfully after the loss as they protest over Oron’s win.

Ouda became the first MP to be defeated in Kisumu as most of the incumbents recaptured their seats.

Muhoroni MP Onyango Koyoo beat 4 contestants by garnering 4,043 votes. In Kisumu East constituency, Nicholas Oricho won with 4,533 votes as Nyakach MP Aduma Owuor defended the ticket with 3,893 votes.

Nominations were not conducted in Seme, Nyando and Kisumu West constituencies since ODM issued direct tickets. The tickets were handed to Dr. James Nyikal, Jared Okello and Rosa Buyu respectively.

Elsewhere, Ms Ruth Odinga won the ODM ticket to contest for the Woman Representative seat after 23, 665 party members voted for her ahead of her closest challenger, former Kisumu County Executive Committee member for Tourism, Dr Rose Kisia who got 13,999 votes.

Others in the race were former Citizen’s Convention Party leader Grace Akumu, former Kisumu city manager Doris Ombara, former Kisumu lands CEC Judith Attyang, philanthropist Beatrice Atieno and Central Seme MCA Sally Okudo.

In the same primaries, Professor Tom Ojienda won the Kisumu senator nomination with 39,336 votes, beating nominated senator Rose Nyamunga who got 18,319 votes. Former Muhoroni MP and Kisumu County Party Coordinating Committee Chairman Prof Ayiecho Olweny came third with 10,794 votes.

You may also like

About Us

We are the leading Diaspora Media House

@2023 – All Right Reserved. Designed and Developed by Kenyan Report ICT

error: Content is protected !!