in , , ,

Four new IEBC commissioners take oath of office.

Four new commissioners of the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) have been sworn into office.

Commissioners, Juliana Whonge Cherera, Francis Mathengi Wanderi, Irene Cherop Masit and Justus Abonyo Nyang’ay we’re sworn in by Cheif Justice Martha Koome at the Supreme Court on Thursday.

The four, replaced Roselyne Akombe, Paul Kurgat, Connie Maina, and Margaret Mwachanya who left after the 2017 General Elections.

On Thursday morning the High Court declined to stop the swearing in of the four Commissioners after Justice Weldon Korir said the country is heading towards elections and any further delay of swearing-in will be dangerous.

“It is in the public interest that the conservatory orders should not be granted,” he said

A petitioner, Nornael Okello, wanted the oathing stopped arguing that the nomination and appointment of one of the nominees, Ms Irene Masiit contravened article 88(2) (a) of the Constitution since she had presented herself for elections in the last General Elections.

The four names were forwarded to the president by the selection panel for the appointment of commissioners to IEBC from a list of 35 members who were interviewed

KR On Youtube

    Written by Pauline Nabwire

    Moi’s Grandson Refuses To Pay Ksh 1 Million Child Upkeep

    Kiraitu to Raila: We Will Make You President.