Home » Judicial Service Commission shortlisted Chief Justice candidate drops bombshell on Cherera 4 tribunal with claims about secret deal between CJ Koome and Ruto

Judicial Service Commission shortlisted Chief Justice candidate drops bombshell on Cherera 4 tribunal with claims about secret deal between CJ Koome and Ruto

by Joshua Wanga
0 comment

After president William Ruto appointed a tribunal which was hurriedly sworn in by Chief Justice Martha Koome to probe into the conduct of four Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission personnel, one of those who were shortlisted for the Chief Justice position is now throwing a new angle on the entire process with shocking claims.

Professor Makau Mutua was among those that were interviewed by the vetting committee during the selection on the Chief Justice in 2016

Prof Makau Mutua who was vetted in 2016 for the Chief Justice position which eventually went to David Maraga took to Twitter to claim that the tribunal which was appointed to probe the Cherera 4 was in fact formed even before the JLAC committee approved its report, and Koome was pre-cleared behind the scenes to swear in the team. His tweet read,
It’s CLEAR the kangaroo tribunal to HANG the IEBC Four was formed before UDA MPs “approved” the JLAC report. The calendar of CJ @CJMarthaKoome was pre-cleared to swear in the hangmen. The speed of the operation bespeaks of a regime that’s deeply insecure and illegitimate.

The nine members of the tribunal chosen by President William Ruto to look into the conduct of the IEBC vice chairperson Juliana Cherera and three other commissioners were sworn in last week.
The nine were sworn in in a ceremony led by Chief Justice Martha Koome.

The tribunal appointed on Friday, December 2, will be chaired by Justice Aggrey Muchelule.
Carolyne Kamende Daudi, Linda Gakii Kiome, Mathew Njaramba Nyabena, and retired Colonel Saeed Khamis Saced were also appointed to probe the commissioners.
Kibet Kirui Emmanuel, Irene Tuntu Neboe, Peter Munge Murage and Zamzam Abdi Abib will also be part of the tribunal.
Other commissioners to be investigated alongside Cherera are Justus Nyangaya, Francis Wanderi and Irene Masit.
“The mandate of the Tribunal shall be to consider the petition for the removal of Juliana Cherera, Francis Mathenge Wanderi, Irene Cherop Masit and Justus Abonyo Nyang’aya from office as members of IEBC and to inquire into the allegations therein,” read the special gazette notice in part.

Further, the President directed the four commissioners to be suspended until the matter is concluded.
Prior to all these, the four embattled Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commissioners (IEBC), in the report by the Justice committee chaired by Tharaka Member of Parliament George Murugara had their woes increased. After considering four petitions seeking to ouster Juliana Cherera, Justus Nyagaya, Irene Masit and Francis Wanderi the legislators were satisfied that they held sufficient grounds for their removal.

For current information about Kenya, pandemic regulations, Real estate, credit and other companies offering loans to individuals and small businesses, healthcare and treatment information, always browse Kenyan Report.

You may also like

Leave a Comment

Kenyan Report


Subscribe my Newsletter for new blog posts, tips & new photos. Let's stay updated!

Latest News

@2022 – All Right Reserved. Designed and Developed by Kenyan Report ICT

error: Content is protected !!