Big blow to president Uhuru as Court suspends his IEBC selection panelist

The High Court has suspended President Uhuru Kenyatta’s appointment of Dorothy Jemator to the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) selection panel.

Jemator was appointed by the head of state on Monday, April 26, 2021 through a gazette notice to the IEBC Commissioners selection panel as a representative of Law Society of Kenya.

She was appointed to the panel alongside six other members including; Elizabeth Muli, Gideon Solonka, James Awuori, Elizabeth Odundo, Joseph Mutie and Farudin Abdalla.

This has happened barely hours before she was sworn in by Deputy Chief Justice Philomena Mwilu to officially assume the office.

The IEBC Act states that the composition of the selection panel should comprise nominees from the Public Service Commission, representatives from the legal profession, the Christian and Muslim faith as well as academia.

The panel is expected to invite applications for the IEBC commissioner’s post by Monday, May 3, 2021 thereafter it will shortlist, interview and nominate successful candidates for appointment by the president. 

The final list of successful candidates will be forwarded to the president by the panelists for appointment as IEBC Commissioners upon the approval by the Parliament. 

This comes after President Uhuru on Wednesday, April 14, 2021 had declared the four posts of IEBC Commissioners vacant in order to pave way for the new appointments.

Roselyn Akombe had resigned in 2017, just days to the repeat presidential poll, citing threats to her life. Further, In 2018, three commissioners resigned, citing a lack of confidence in Chebukati.

The IEBC currently has only 3 members namely; Wafula Chebukati, Abdi Yakub Guliye and Boya Molu.

KR On Youtube

    What do you think?

    Written by Kennedy Omondi




    Meru senator Mithika Linturi arrested

    Government has suspended flights to India