Here are Members of Code Name ‘Tsunami’ That Raila Is Assembling To Spearhead BBI

    Opposition chief Raila Odinga is assembling a team with code name ‘Tsunami’ to  push through the the referendum on the BBI report as he works on a new alliance.

    Parallel to the Pentagon that Raila formed in the lead-up to the 2007 general election, Team Tsunami is having representation across the former eight provinces.

    Besides campaigning for Raila, the team is also tasked with coming up with programmes to politically neutralize Amani National Congress leader Musalia Mudavadi and his Wiper counterpart Kalonzo Musyoka.

    It was Team Tsunami that called the shots during the Bomas of Kenya meeting where Uhuru Kenyatta and Raila unveiled the BBI report.

    Members of the team were given a chance to address the meeting whose emcee was Suna East MP Junet Mohamed. In Coast, Team Tsunami will be led by Mombasa governor Hassan Joho. Joho was among the speakers at the Bomas of Kenya during the release of the BBI report.

    The governor who is serving his final term is expected to marshal the coastal communities to back the BBI report and eventually vote for Raila in 2022. If Raila wins the presidency, Joho will be appointed a powerful minister.

    In Western Kenya, Team Tsunami is being led by ODM’s deputy party leader and Kakamega Governor Wycliffe Oparanya.

    The governor is also serving his final term and has been tasked to cut Mudavadi’s influence in the populous region. He is expected to lead the campaigns for the adoption of the BBI report in the region and eventually to rally Luhyas behind Raila’s candidature.

    Oparanya is also angling for a senior government position if Raila is elected president. In Central Kenya, Team Tsunami will be led by Kirinyaga governor Anne Waiguru. Other members in this team include nominated MP Maina Kamanda and Nyeri Town MP Ngunjiri Wambugu. The team is tasked with cutting Ruto’s influence in the region ahead of the 2022 general election.

    In Ukambani, Team Tsunami will be led by Machakos governor Alfred Mutua, his Makueni counterpart Kivutha Kibwana and Kitui’s Charity Ngilu.

    Mutua and Ngilu joined Raila during the Kibra by-election campaigns where they tried to rally Kambas in the region to back the ODM candidate. Kambas in Kibra however are now demanding to see the fruits of voting for Imran saying that Ngilu and Mutua should have first sat down with Raila and bargained for the community to get the position of chairman of Kibra CDF in exchange of support.

    In the vast North Eastern region, Team Tsunami will be led by former deputy speaker Maalim Mohamed. The team is tasked with containing Garissa Township MP Duale who is Ruto’s pointman in the region.

    In the Rift valley, the team will be led by Cherangany MP Joshua Kutuny. The MP was among leaders who joined Raila during the Kibra by-election campaigns.

    In Gusii, Raila has picked Senator Sam Ongeri and Interior cabinet secretary Fred Matiang’i to lead the team and they will be joined by Governor Evans Ongwae, who is also serving his final term.

    In Maasailand the team will be led by Kajiado Central MP Elijah Memusi and a host of other leaders. Other politicians are Baringo senator Gideon Moi and Jubilee secretary-general Raphael Tuju.

    Isn’t it convenient to have Kenya’s latest breaking news at your fingertip? That’s right, at (which is an intriguing platform to explore all types of Kenya news); you’ll find good informative blogs and articles on various headlines. As a news-savvy person, you’ll not be disappointed with breaking news, entertainment news, politics and political happening, diaspora news, celebrity trend and many more.

    Facebook Comments
    Please follow and like us:


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here