Mt Kenya MPs On the Move, Form Parliamentary Caucus to Articulate Interests of the Region

Mt Kenya MPs have formed a Parliamentary caucus to champion for interests of Central Kenya and the critical issues the region need to be addressed. This follows a directive by President Uhuru Kenyatta at the Sagana meeting, where he told elected leaders to focus on development issues and not constant politics year in year out.

In a press statement sent to news rooms on Friday, the caucus, has identified three key areas including SME Business Support, Agriculture Optimization and Government Business as the key areas that they will focus on, through making relevant legislation and policy frameworks.

”Following the Sagana meeting where H E President Kenyatta challenged Mt Kenya leaders to focus on issues that affect the region’s socio-economic development the MPs below have formed a Parliamentary Caucus to pursue and lobby on the following three key areas,” the statement reads in part.

The statement is signed by MPs Hon Ruth Mwaniki (Kigumo), Hon Ngugi Nduati (Gatanga), Hon Maoka Maore (Igembe North) and Hon Mercy Gakuya (Kasarani). Others are Hon Gathoni Wamuchomba (Kiambu), Hon Muturi Kigano (Kangema), Hon Peter Mwathi (Limuru), Hon Peter Kimari (Mathioya), Hon Paul Koinange (Kiambaa) and Hon Ngunjiri Wambugu (Nyeri).

This comes even as another faction of Mt Kenya MPs, comprising of leaders mostly alligned to DP William Ruto have organized a meeting in Embu. Something that many believe is a platform to rival President Uhuru’s Sagana meeting.

Facebook Comments
Please follow and like us:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here